joycesimsJoyce Sims

Joyce Sims (born August 6, 1959, Rochester, New York, United States) is an American singer-songwriter. Her biggest hit single was “Come Into My Life”, which reached Top 10 status in both the US Billboard R&B chart and the UK Singles Chart in 1987/8.


Sims formally studied music in college, learning a number of instruments. In 1986 Sims signed with the now defunct record label, Sleeping Bag Records.

Her biggest success was “Come Into My Life”, although it was her only Top 10 record. Both “All and All” and her remake of “Love Makes A Woman” with Jimmy Castor were chart entries, but Sims did not garner enough attention to break out beyond the dance market. Sims’ debut album, Come Into My Life reached #22 in the US R&B album chart. All songs were written by Sims except for “Love Makes A Woman”.

In 1994, Sims signed with Warlock Records, and released the single “Who’s Crying Now”. She continued to tour internationally and make club appearances.

She made her return in 2006 with the single, “What The World Needs Now Is Love,” from her album, A New Beginning, after teaming up with record producers Junior Vasquez and Glen Frisica.

Her music can be heard on the soundtrack to the movie, Species, and she has seen her songs recorded or sampled by Randy Crawford, Angie Stone, and Snoop Dog. Sims most recent release was “Wishing You Were Here” on her own imprint, August Rose Records. A new album, Back In Love Again is to follow.

2009 Come Into My Life: The Very Best of Joyce Sims a double CD of her greatest hits and remixes has been released in the UK on Music Club/Demon Music Group that includes the original studio versions on CD1 and Extended mixes on CD2.



* Come Into My Life (1987)
* All About Love (1989)
* A New Beginning (2006)
* Come Into My Life: Her Greatest Hits (2008)
* Come Into My Life: The Very Best of Joyce Sims (2cd) (2009)


* “All And All” (1986) UK #16; US R&B #69
* “Lifetime Love” (1987) UK #34; US R&B #23
* “Come Into My Life” (1988) UK #7; US R&B #10
* “Walk Away” (1988) UK #24; US R&B #56
* “Love Makes A Woman” (1988) US R&B #29
* “Looking For A Love” (1989) UK #39
* “Take Caution With My Heart” (1989)
* “All About Love” (1990)
* “Come Into My Life” (remix) (1994) UK #72
* “Who’s Crying Now” (1995)
* “Come Into My Life” (2004 remix) (2004)
* “Praise His Name” (2006)
* “What The World Needs Now” (2006)

Joyce Sims

Be Sociable, Share!

Previous post:

Next post:

Powered by Your Love of Freestyle Music
Designed by MGDfx Media Corporation.